“Why the Hobbit?”

“Why the Hobbit?”

Galadriel and Gandalf

Galadriel and Gandalf

Have you watched the movie yet? Read the book?

Well, I am still in the midst of reading “The Hobbit” but I have seen the movie. I am no expert on “Lord of the Rings” or J.R.R. Tolkien, but all the same I can’t help but be swept away by the story line and the characters of this story.

I was first introduced to “Lord of the Rings” when the first movie of the trilogy, “The Fellowship of the Ring” was to be released in theatres. My husband who is a huge fan, and had read the books shared his great anticipation in seeing this phenomenal story hit the big screen. At the time, I admit the movie impressed me mainly for how the cinematographer’s captured the beautiful scenery shots, the creative, odd and fun-loving characters, especially in the Shire. Certainly,
the use of a couple of handsome male actors made it easy to watch as well.

Fast forward a few years, once I rediscovered my Catholic faith, I see how rich this story line is with Catholic themes. Perform a quick search on the internet and you will be sure to find many others who have also shared their insights, comparisons and parallels between “Lord of the Rings” and the Catholic faith.

It is not my intention to re-do what others have done. However, I do want to share with you my favourite scene in the movie and my insights.

It is truly remarkable to me that J.R.R. Tolkien and Peter Jackson, the director of the movies, have managed to bring this story through mainstream media. The books have crossed generations and yet continue to capture audiences old and new alike. With this new use of media, another generation has the opportunity to enjoy Tolkien’s work through the movies. Certainly, there are others who like myself, have missed the parallels of faith in the story line.

My favourite scene from “The Hobbit” movie is the scene with Gandalf and Galadriel. There are so many layers in this scene. Gandalf reveals to us the reason he has involved the Hobbit in this journey with the Dwarves. Reminding us that evil is conquered through simple acts of love. Gandalf is like a great spiritual leader, who possesses supernatural powers. Yet he shows simplicity and humility when he trusts others even the Hobbit to do what is necessary, to do what is right. He only intercedes when it is absolutely necessary, after the others have tried to combat the evil on their own.

We also see that Gandalf is not alone. In this scene with Galadriel we realize that she also possesses supernatural abilities. In a way very similar to our Blessed Mother she assures Gandalf that she will be there for him when he needs help.

Bilbo, the Hobbit, represents all of us, the lay people who are called to help our spiritual leaders, priests, bishops and the like in their mission. With our simple acts of love and perhaps even with some very heroic acts as well. As we see in the remaining story of “The Hobbit” Bilbo becomes quite the hero in the story. Gandalf has great aspirations for this little Hobbit and the Hobbit does not disappoint. In fact he surprises himself at times.

I have read further into the book, then where this first movie ended. I don’t want to share further insights yet since many of you may not have read the books yet. If you haven’t, I strongly recommend that you do read the book.

Comment

